Honored Alumni

The Honored Alumni Award is the highest honor bestowed upon Cal Poly alumni by the University’s Alumni Association. The award was established more than 31 years ago by the Association to provide recognition for outstanding graduates and former students of Cal Poly.

One Honored Alumni Award recipient is chosen every year alumni from the University’s seven academic colleges: Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences; Architecture and Environmental Design; Education; Engineering; Liberal Arts; Orfalea College of Business; and Science and Mathematics.

The Cal Poly Alumni Association presents the Distinguished Service Award annually to an alumnus or alumna who has demonstrated exceptional service to Cal Poly and the Alumni Association.

Awardees are honored each year during Homecoming at the Grand Reunion and Honored Alumni Banquet.

2017 Honoree: Doug Lowe, FAIA

Image of Doug Lowe

B.S., Architecture, 1974
Founding Principal & V.P. Cuningham Group Architecture, P.A.

Douglas Lowe, FAIA, graduated with a Bachelor of Science in architecture in 1974. He is the founding principal and vice president of Cuningham Group Architecture, Inc. and was president of Cuningham Group Construction Services, LLC. Lowe is licensed to practice architecture in several states and as a general contractor in California. His skills can be seen in a variety of projects, including theme parks, hotels and multi-use facilities such as Disney’s California Adventure, the Star Trek Theater, Universal Studios Hollywood and the renovations of the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel and Pasadena Hilton Hotel. He was elevated to Fellow of the American Institute of Architects in 2009 and in 2014 was the first recipient of the Norma Sklarek Award given by the American Institute of Architects, California Council for his humanitarian efforts, volunteering his assistance to communities recovering from disaster. Lowe served on the Dean’s Leadership Council from 1999 to 2006 and is a member of the industry advisory council for Cal Poly’s Resilient Communities Research Institute. He is a supporter of the Architecture Summer Career Workshop, sponsoring students with financial need, and works to help students secure internship opportunities.

Past Honored Alumni

2016 Wendy Ornelas
2015 Scott F. Gaudineer
2014 Ted A. Hyman
2013 Paul H. Hamalian
2012  Jack A. Berridge
2011  David J. Gilmore
2010  James E. Grant
2009  Wally B. Gordon
2008  Rebekah G. Gladson
2007  Mark B. Haselton
2006  Brent Dickens
2005  Ken Stone
2004  Mark Montoya
2003  Peter Berg
2002  Milford Wayne Donaldson
2001  Emanuele Barelli
2000  Robin L. Rossi
1999  Eugene E. Cole
1998  Gerald G. Green
1997  Kenneth A. Rodriguez
1996  Donald W. Dreusike
1995  Thomas A. Sabol
1994  Ernesto M. Vasquez


1993  Dean M. Gelvin
1992  Jacque L. Keller
1991  Doug H. Austin
1990  Paul C. Crawford
1989  Christopher J. Smith
1988  M. John Vickerman, Jr.
1987  C. Nicholas Watry, III
1986  Michael A. Theilacker
1984  Deborah A. Weldon
1983  Ray Takata
1982  David A. Wright
1981  Lawrence L. Simons
1980  James R. McGranahan
1979  Ingeborg Rose
1978  Paul Neel
1977  Donald Bensen
1976  George Ikenoyama
1975  Roger Honberger
1974  Bernard Adams
1973  Joel Rottman
1972  Homer Delawie
1971  William Richardson
1970  James Luckman
1969  Benito Sinclai


Related Content

Upcoming Events

  • Nov. 8, 2018
    CAED Alumni Gathering,
    Texas AIA Conference Frost Tower, Fort Worth TX
  • Nov. 8-11
    Alumni Weekend - Homecoming CAED Honored Alumni
  • Dec. 15, 4 pm
    Cal Poly/CAED Fall Commencement
    Cal Poly Rec. Ctr.

Giving to CAED

CSI President with ARCE students

More on CAED support

CAED Connections

Connections 2018 Magazine

Connections Magazine

Hearst Lecture Series

Image of Omar Gandhi's work

Next: Omar Gandhi on October 19th

Click for Calendar